Red Rock Running & Tri Club

News and upcoming events

Lots of club runs this week  

Posted by Pete McBreen Mon, 28 Jul 2014 02:36:23 GMT

Week beginning 28-July

Long weekend this weekend, so a chance to fit in another long run on the Holiday Monday.

Tuesday 29-July – Fun Training Group will meet at 6:30 at Tim Horton’s off Highway 22, Mitford hill for drills and hills – we will be training on the grass hill again this week.

Wednesday 30-July – NEW LOCATION!! easy run from Sweet Temptations (101 521 1 St W, Cochrane), start at 6:30PM – will run at pace of slowest person who shows up.

Thursday 31-July – meet 6:30 at Tim Horton’s off Highway 22 – we will be doing 400m repeats along Glenbow Drive between Alliance Church and the Railway crossing.

Saturday 2-August – Long run from Coffee Traders, 10 to 20K depending on how far you want to go.

Sunday 3-August – meet 8:45 at Coffee Traders for an easy 7K to 20K – there will be opportunities to turn around early if you do not want the full distance.

Holiday Monday 4-August – a chance to do a long weekend, meet 9AM at Tim Horton’s off Highway 22 for a 17K run.

Another good 5K result from Jim  

Posted by Pete McBreen Sun, 27 Jul 2014 02:17:10 GMT

The MEC Race 5 gave Jim another chance to race 5K 22:41 for 29th Place. A Red Rock Runner of old Ken Skea was 11th.

Hope for us all  

Posted by Pete McBreen Fri, 18 Jul 2014 01:57:46 GMT

Cool photographs of older track athletes and a short article about the photographer of this Racing Age project

Congratulations to the runners in the Banff races  

Posted by Pete McBreen Thu, 26 Jun 2014 17:52:34 GMT

The Banff half and marathon finally happened last weekend after being rained out the previous year. Marathon results and Half Marathon results – quite a lot of people from Cochrane in the half. Note for both of these races the turnaround was not at the half way point, the courses had to be adjusted due to grizzly bears on the original course.

Success at Footstock 2014  

Posted by Pete McBreen Sat, 14 Jun 2014 21:21:55 GMT

Congratulations on age group placing at Footstock 5 K results 10 K results to Sue – 1st [missing from photo], Jim – 2nd, Les – 1st and Neil 1st. Neil also placed 3rd overall in the 5K!

Some of our runners in Footstock 2014

Jon Sutherland has run at least a mile every day since 1969  

Posted by Pete McBreen Wed, 28 May 2014 03:03:39 GMT

Who says that running every day is bad for you?

Race Reports from Master's Mile  

Posted by Pete McBreen Sun, 27 Apr 2014 04:05:32 GMT

A good set of races today, Masters Mile Race Reports might make a few of you smile, many thanks to Les for the Photos

New Race Report from Neil  

Posted by Pete McBreen Sat, 22 Mar 2014 23:41:03 GMT

The St Paddy’s day 5K race went well for Neil.

Eamonn Coghlan documentary on running  

Posted by Pete McBreen Fri, 21 Mar 2014 04:18:39 GMT

Secrets of Kenyan Athletics interviews a long term coach in Kenya who has had phenomenal success since the mid 1980’s

Beat The Blerch race  

Posted by Pete McBreen Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:00:17 GMT

If you like The Oatmeal comic then you will like this Beat the Blerch race